Celebrating The Boonshoft School of Medicine’s 1st Graduates

Happy anniversary to the inaugural class of the Boonshoft School of Medicine, who this year are celebrating their 40th anniversary.

Wright State University School of Medicine- Class of 1980

After the establishment of the new school by the Ohio legislature in 1973, the charter class of medical students began their studies at Wright State in the fall of 1976, culminating in the conferral of 31 medical degrees at the first commencement ceremony for the School of Medicine on June 7, 1980.

Diploma for Stephen O. Bernardon, First Graduate of WSU School of Medicine

Since 1980, 2,155 M.D.’s have graduated from the program, with Wright State alumni practicing in every state in the nation. Commitment to community has become a hallmark of the school, which was honored with the prestigious Outstanding Community Service Award in 1997 by the Association of American Medical Colleges.

As the university community sits at home waiting out the COVID-19 Pandemic, we wanted to pay tribute to this important milestone in the university’s history, with hopes that the BSOM community can hold it’s 40th commencement ceremony this summer and celebrate together.

Convocation- School of Medicine Inaugural Class- September 14, 1976

This entry was posted in SC&A, WSU History and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Celebrating The Boonshoft School of Medicine’s 1st Graduates